On gathering data: Truth shall prevail!

Edited on Canva

In a short time, I was refreshed regarding the data gathering methods. From Observation, Retrieval, to Interview, I was able to apply my learnings. The data gathering techniques were useful in looking for credible sources for my Laboratory exercises. Here, I will present you my experiences and insights on conducting the different types of data gathering and how I reflect it on my DEVC11 Laboratory requirements.

Observation

Our first exercise in laboratory class involves crowdsourcing where you must ask for the response of your target audience to get their insights regarding your topic. In my case, the topic I chose was the Youth Week 2021 also known in our barangay as “San AntonYouth Week”. At first, I honestly struggled on picking a topic because I was afraid that it might be too broad or common but later on, I realized that this topic fits in the guidelines in choosing a development-oriented news beat. My first-hand experience in participating the Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) project helped me on writing the news story as I personally know how it goes and the benefits it provides.

In this data gathering method, I was able to compile responses of various beneficiaries of the program. I realized how crucial their consent is, how to deal with data privacy act, and more importantly, this technique on gathering data reveal how much I need to broaden my connections.

Retrieval

List of some of the files I submitted on DEVC11 Exercise 1

On looking for credible sources online, I personally had a hard time on choosing which should be used and not. There were various files about my topic, however, they almost present the same idea. This is why it is important to weigh the relation of the gathered sources in the content you wish to generate. I chose the sources which will really be used on my news story because there could be so many works related but you got to pick only those you need.

Interview

Photo of Maryrose Alingasa’s video recording with Hon. Mark Anthony Ramos

This data gathering aspect made me nervous the most. I was too anxious from not getting a response from the official I need to interview. It took a follow-up before I was able to set the interview. What is crazier on this experience is that, as soon as I was able to reach SK Chairman Mark Anthony Ramos, he just asked for some minutes and the interview started. Considering the fact that the request for interview was freshly followed up, I thought he will set a meeting days after the confirmation but I was wrong. The lesson I have learned from this experience, you need to be ready anytime because you never know when your chance will come. Thankfully, I was able to execute the interview properly and everything goes well.

Truth shall prevail

In every scholarly and public content that we do, we shall always be on the side of the truth and fact. As a media writer in training, as early as now, I need to practice honesty and show dignity in every work I do. The exercises that challenged me on applying my learnings on data gathering is a great stepping stone for my next tasks. I still need to learn more and I am willing to work hard for it.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started