The Thrill of It All

Development Communication is definitely a thrill of it all. It is a stepping stone, a challenge, and a calling.

The pressure of getting into UP rattled me as I looked at the list of programs offered in Los Banos. I was dazed and confused about my future career plans as I struggled to choose between my passion for journalism and my love for veterinary medicine. Before passing my final application paper, I did a quick five-minute search about BS Development Communication as it intrigued me the most among all the choices presented.

“Job opportunities for development communication graduates”

I skimmed through Google searching for the right answer and came across this article about a UPLB Development Communication graduate that is currently a writer in one of the biggest media companies in the country. 

It is, in fact, a stepping stone

Studying development communication would hone my skills in writing and researching. Both of which are key factors in the journalism industry. With the help of this degree, I could potentially land my ideal career as a television and radio news correspondent. Something that 15-year old Nicole would kill just to accomplish. 

On the other hand, it is a challenge.

Entering college definitely shocked my core. I’ve handled both academics and extracurricular activities in high school as best as I could and I was actually excelling in both. But little did I know that entering my dream university could be more challenging and nerve-racking. The workload and tremendous backlogs impacted my mental health but I managed to reverse it and tried to see it as a challenge.

As the saying goes,

“Smooth seas do not make skillful sailors.”

African Proverb

Development Communication is my calling.

As I see it, development communication is public service. This would then open opportunities for me to help and aid the Filipino people to receive factual and unbiased information to combat the biggest problems that the country is facing today. I do believe that all of these root from lack of proper knowledge on these highly relevant topics. This would not only educate the masses but as well as possibly solving underdevelopment issues that are swept under the rug.

Lastly, DevCom is a journey.

Coursing through development communication is a long and painful journey. Problems and hardships will always challenge our determination and passion. But with persistence and confidence, I am going to manage and make it through the thrill of it all.

Author: nicoleanacay

i write

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started